Maggie's

See what's happening in the Community

You are not logged in.   Log In

Meet the team

As well as sharing experiences with our friendly online community, registered members are able to contact our experienced online team. The Centre is staffed during office hours and the online team aim to reply within 24 hours.

Psychologists and experts from other Maggie's Centres and partner organisations also facilitate some group and individual sessions.

Picture of Topic  'Today I am feeling' - managing emotions

Topic

Topic 'Today I am feeling' - managing emotions

Share how you are feeling and swap tips for managing stress with other members and the online team

• 186 conversations

Feeling alone

Started by Anonymous on 14 May 2015 at 19:30

hi i am new to all this and hope someone can help me understand the feelings i am going through.  Ill give you a little background hubbie was diagnosed with bowel cancer in 2011 been through the surgery radiotherapy and chemo - lost count how many chemos!  was told it was terminal and he had a year 2 years ago he seems to be doing ok at the moment recent scan showed not much change which is good.  He has cancer fatigue currently and periphial neuropathy and spends quite a lot of time in his bed.  We have two children soon to be 11 and 13 one of each the youngest girl never wants to go to school cause she wants to stay with her dad and i think my son is angry at his dad about promising things he doesnt do.  I work 3 days a week 9-3 but also have to do everything else and it gets to me alot i recently had 5 weeks off work and felt so much better sleeping well happy kids seemed less stressed no stupid thoughts, was back maybe 2 weeks and i feel exactly the same as before.  I feel so angry that he lies there unable to do anything, no sock matching, no putting a wash on, help with homework no nothing and im angry really angry i want to quit work and feel like a normal person not someone on antidepressents and anxiety meds who feel