Maggie's

See what's happening in the Community

You are not logged in.   Log In

Meet the team

As well as sharing experiences with our friendly online community, registered members are able to contact our experienced online team. The Centre is staffed during office hours and the online team aim to reply within 24 hours.

Psychologists and experts from other Maggie's Centres and partner organisations also facilitate some group and individual sessions.

Picture of Topic Friends and family

Topic

Topic Friends and family

For anyone supporting someone else with cancer

• 156 conversations

Dad has stage4 kidney cancer

Started by Anonymous on 26 April 2017 at 20:29

Hi. Like many I'm new to this. 2 weeks ago my dad got his diagnosis - stage 4 kidney cancer with nodes (not sure if that's the right word) in his adrenal gland, lung and liver. He's been put on Sutent but told it might not work. He had to have three months of that before we will know if it's worked. I thought I was dealing with this. But a couple of days ago it suddenly hit me like a lorry - they can't cure this. All they can do is keep him alive longer. He got the final results a few days after his 70th birthday. It started with a trip to the doctor for a cough that lingered after a cold. An X-ray should a shadow on his lung which led to a CT scan which showed the kidney tumour - and the others. Needless to say this was a massive shock as the cough was the only sign that he wasn't 100%. Our family isn't great at sharing emotional stuff and my brother seems to be ignoring the fact that dad is seriously sick. I can't seem to move past the thought that "this is bad. This is really bad". Dad doesn't have any visible symptoms and the drug won't have huge side effects. If any one has any ideas on how I can get past the big sick feeling and constant repetition in my head of "this is bad" I'd really appreciate it as I can't do that for the next three months. Any advice welcome.

Comments (2)

latest | oldest