Maggie's

See what's happening in the Community

You are not logged in.   Log In

Meet the team

As well as sharing experiences with our friendly online community, registered members are able to contact our experienced online team. The Centre is staffed during office hours and the online team aim to reply within 24 hours.

Psychologists and experts from other Maggie's Centres and partner organisations also facilitate some group and individual sessions.

Picture of Topic Friends and family

Topic

Topic Friends and family

For anyone supporting someone else with cancer

• 156 conversations

Feeling numb

Started by Anonymous on 18 November 2016 at 10:01
Edited on 18 November 2016 at 10:01

Hi this is my first time here and I don't know what to do! My mum has stage4 lung cancer. She had surgery last December and we were told they caught it all. Then in July we were told it had come back and needed chemo. She had three rounds of palliative chemo out of six and on Wednesday she told the doctor that she doesn't want to have anymore. She has a follow up appointment in four weeks. When we left the hospital I felt as though we were rushed out and now I feel numb. What do we do now? It's as though the cancer has gone away! I know full well it hasn't but that's the best way to describe it! Has anyone else had a relative refuse anymore chemo? If so how did you feel? Are my feelings perfectly normal? How do I manage my feelings? I know I may sound selfish but if I can manage my feelings then I can help mum manage hers. Sorry for such a long post!

Comments (2)

latest | oldest

Displaying 2 comments

• Picture of SusieQ
    From SusieQ  
    18 November 2016 at 12:47

Hello,

It's been an awful year for you, and having supported your mum throughout her cancer treatment, it may feel like a body blow to know she's now decided not to have any more treatment.