Maggie's

See what's happening in the Community

You are not logged in.   Log In

Meet the team

As well as sharing experiences with our friendly online community, registered members are able to contact our experienced online team. The Centre is staffed during office hours and the online team aim to reply within 24 hours.

Psychologists and experts from other Maggie's Centres and partner organisations also facilitate some group and individual sessions.

Picture of Parents with cancer

Topic

Parents with cancer

Conversations for anyone whose child (young or adult) has been affected by cancer

• 10 conversations

Father diagnosed today

Started by Anonymous on 29 March 2018 at 18:33

My father has been diagnosed today with liver and prostate cancer. I'm 23 and this has totally crushed me of course initially I'm thinking the worst. I just can't cope I feel lost and numb. I'm a nurse and seeing patients in the same position is crushing me more.

Comments (1)

Displaying 1 comments

• Picture of Robyn
    From Robyn  
    03 April 2018 at 09:49

Hello I can imagine it has been a difficult weekend following your father’s diagnosis. The numbness of the shock may have continued or perhaps be replaced with a feeling of being overwhelmed with a whole mix of emotions.

Being a nurse can be a double edged sword – other family members can have high expectations from you for information and advice which can all add to the stress. It can also feel very different to see close relatives unwell.

I don’t know what area you work in however it sounds as if you are struggling and you are unlikely to be able to give your best care at the moment so if you haven’t already talk to your line manger and your GP about having some time off .

As your father’s diagnosis is so recent and coinciding with the bank holidays I imagine he is still having tests – There is a lot of uncertainty just now , once a treatment plan is clearer many people find it easier to manage practically and emotionally.