Maggie's

See what's happening in the Community

You are not logged in.   Log In

Meet the team

As well as sharing experiences with our friendly online community, registered members are able to contact our experienced online team. The Centre is staffed during office hours and the online team aim to reply within 24 hours.

Psychologists and experts from other Maggie's Centres and partner organisations also facilitate some group and individual sessions.

Picture of Living with loss

Topic

Living with loss

For anyone who has lost someone due to cancer

• 142 conversations

Loss of my husband

Started by Anonymous on 02 December 2017 at 18:09

Hi, I’m new to Maggie’s and lost my husband just about 5 weeks ago. His cancer had spread to his spine which was operated on about 4 months ago to remove as much of the tumour as possible but we never expected him to leave us. His last few weeks were torture for him with his pain and his behaviour was so unlike him also, angry and agitated as opposed to the most kind hearted, jovial person. I’m totally lost without him and the overwhelming grief I can’t control and burst into tears at any moment. I can’t think about how life is going to be without him as we were soulmates, but i see everyone else moving on with their lives, but do appreciate they are hurting also but have the close support of partners. We had so much still to do together (I’m 48, he is 57) but now he’s not with me anymore. I can’t even contemplate going out for a meal, as that was one of out “things” to do together, dining out. I have been off work since it happened but can’t even hold a conversation with the Dr without breaking down. I know I have to go back to work as need to be with people again, but that in itself hurts as I’m “moving on”, but actually want to go back in time. Apologies for rambling but any help / advice would be greatly appreciated Thx

Comments (1)

Displaying 1 comments

• Picture of SusieQ
    From SusieQ  
    04 December 2017 at 09:55